Single Parents

Need advice... how to dump my baby's father... sorry LONG!

I apologize in advance as this will be a long post.  But I'm not really sure who to turn to regarding this subject.

I've been good friends and on/off partners with my baby's father.  Though we've cohabited in the past, basically a year or so ago I realized he is more of a PITA to have as a household member than he was saving me in rent.  We stayed "together" as a couple, but stopped living together last July -- I got my own place, and he moved in to a room in his uncle's house.  Basically I was (and still am) unwilling to live with him until he gets his adult priorities straight, finishes school, and demonstrates base-level fiscal responsibilty (i.e. rent is due on the first, not "here's $100 for now; you'll get the rest later.)  Weelllll, then I got pregnant.

I'm not here to debate whether or not I should have had an abortion... I'm a college graduate with full-time career employment, no credit card debt, etc -- basically in an okay spot emotionally and financially, and I felt that I had the means to take care of a dependent child.  Plus the baby's two months old so TOO LATE FOR THAT.  But pretty much when I got pregnant, I approached the situation from the standpoint of a single parent.  I didn't want to welcome him back into my home simply because he knocked me up... that would have resulted in me taking care of two children, not one.  :-/  That being said, he did express a desire to be "involved and supportive," and we are on good terms.  So I guess we'd still be considered "together."  Problem is, I don't really want that.