1st Trimester

Advice for dealing with difficult family (long)

Hello to the board, I'm new to the bump. I am almost 11 weeks right now. I would appreciate advice on dealing with a (not typical) issue regarding family reactions to pregnancy. My husband and I are anomalies in our families- we both come from difficult childhoods (to varying degrees) but have managed to be relatively functional in our relationships and successful in our respective careers. Although we have relationships with our parents and siblings, in some cases we have had to set significant boundaries to maintain healthy relationships (mainly for my family- my husband's family is not quite as troubled). Most of them have reacted positively when we recently told them that we are expecting, but my sister has been a notable exception.